privy councillors, Cabinet Ministers, lieutenantgovernors of the provinces, provincial administrators, speakers of the Senate, chief justices of all courts, senators and certain senior executives of the public service. The Prime Minister also recommends the appointment of a new Governor General to the Sovereign, although this normally follows consultation with the Cabinet.

Following are the Prime Ministers since Confederation, with dates of administrations:

Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald, July 1, 1867

— November 5, 1873

Hon. Alexander Mackenzie, November 7, 1873 — October 9, 1878

Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald, October 17, 1878 — June 6, 1891

Hon, Sir John Joseph Caldwell Abbott, June 16, 1891

— November 24, 1892

Rt. Hon. Sir John Sparrow David Thompson, December 5, 1892 — December 12, 1894

Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell, December 21, 1894 — April 27, 1896

Rt. Hon. Sir Charles Tupper, May 1, 1896 — July 8, 1896

Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, July 11, 1896 — October 6, 1911

Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden, October 10, 1911

— October 12, 1917 (Conservative Administration)

Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden, October 12, 1917

— July 10, 1920 (Unionist Administration)

Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, July 10, 1920 — December 29, 1921 (Unionist — National Liberal and Conservative Party)

Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, December 29, 1921 — June 28, 1926

Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen, June 29, 1926 — September 25, 1926

Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, September 25, 1926 — August 6, 1930

Rt. Hon. Richard Bedford Bennett, August 7, 1930 — October 23, 1935

Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King, October 23, 1935 — November 15, 1948

Rt. Hon. Louis Stephen St-Laurent, November 15, 1948

— June 21, 1957

Rt. Hon. John George Diefenbaker, June 21, 1957 — April 22, 1963

Rt. Hon. Lester Bowles Pearson, April 22, 1963 — April 20, 1968

Rt. Hon. Pierre Elliott Trudeau, April 20, 1968 — June 4, 1979

Rt. Hon. Joe Clark, June 4, 1979 — March 3, 1980 Rt. Hon. Pierre Elliott Trudeau, March 3, 1980 — June 30, 1984

Rt. Hon. John Napier Turner, June 30, 1984 — September 17, 1984

Rt. Hon. Martin Brian Mulroney, September 17, 1984

19.2.4 The Cabinet

The Cabinet consists of all the Ministers who are chosen by the Prime Minister, generally from among members of the House of Commons, although some Cabinet Ministers are usually chosen from the Senate including the leader of the government in the Senate. Ministers who are members of Parliament usually head government departments because the Constitution provides that measures for appropriating public funds or imposing taxes must originate in the Commons. If a senator heads a department, another Minister in the Commons has to speak on his behalf on its affairs.

Each Cabinet Minister usually assumes responsibility for one of the departments of government, although a Minister may hold more than one portfolio at the same time or he or she may hold one or more portfolios and one or more acting portfolios. A Minister without portfolio may be invited to join the Cabinet because the Prime Minister wishes to have him or her in the Cabinet without the heavy duties of running a department, or to provide a suitable balance of regional representation, or for any other reason that the Prime Minister sees fit. Because of Canada's cultural and geographical diversity, the Prime Minister gives close attention to geographic representation in the Cabinet.

With the enactment of the Ministries and Ministers of State Act (Government Organization Act, 1970), five categories of ministers of the Crown may be identified: departmental ministers, ministers with special parliamentary responsibilities, ministers without portfolio, and three types of ministers of state. Ministers of state for designated purposes may head a ministry of state created by proclamation. Ministries of State are charged with developing new and comprehensive policies in areas of particular urgency and importance and have a mandate determined by the Governor-in-Council. Those ministers may have powers, duties and functions and exercise supervision and control of elements of the public service, and may seek parliamentary appropriations to cover the cost of their staff and operations. Other ministers of state may be appointed to assist departmental ministers with their